• idi_1200x385_2

An investment pioneer

IDI, founded more than 45 years ago, stands out among its private equity peers due to its longevity. The Group's ability to adapt and innovate constantly have enabled it to thrive in changing times and across economic cycles.

Thanks to its solid foundations and an unyielding commitment to its values, IDI has remained - and remains - a key player on the market. IDI was created in 1970 as the Institute of Industrial Development (Institut du Dévelopmment Industriel) by the French authorities in order to provide equity to French small and mid-sized companies.

Incorporated as a public-private structure, this body was unusual for its time but has demonstrated its staying power. IDI was privatised in 1987 and continues to be an acknowledged and preferred partner for companies. In over 45 years, IDI has supported more than 800 companies, a number of which - such as Bolloré, Zodiac and Bongrain - have grown into successful international groups.

As a pioneer and trendsetter, IDI has also served as an incubator for the private equity business over the years. More than 200 professionals have contributed to the success of IDI and many of them have gone on to play key roles in industrial companies, consulting firms, investment banks or private equity firms.

• idi_1200x385_2

Pionnier de l'investissement

Avec plus de 45 ans d'existence, l'IDI fait figure d'exception par sa longévité parmi les acteurs du capital investis­sement. Sa faculté d'adaptation et d'innovation permanentes lui permettent de traverser les époques et les cycles.

Grâce à des fondations solides et à une fidélité sans faille à ses valeurs, l'IDI a su durer et rester un acteur de référence du marché. Créée en 1970 par les pouvoirs publics, l'Institut du Développement Industriel (IDI) a pour vocation d'accompagner en fonds propres les PME françaises.

Doté d'un statut parapublic, cette structure unique à l'époque a traversé les décennies. Privatisée en 1987, l'IDI reste un partenaire reconnu et privilégié des entreprises. En plus de 45 ans, l'IDI a accompagné plus de 800 entreprises dont certaines sont devenues des groupes internationaux performants à l'image de Bolloré, Zodiac ou encore Bongrain.

Pionnier et précurseur, l'IDI a aussi au cours de toutes ces années constitué une véritable pépinière pour la profession du capital investissement. Plus de 200 professionnels ont en effet contribué au succès de l'IDI et nombre d'entre eux ont joué par la suite des rôles importants au sein de sociétés industrielles ou de conseil, de banques d'affaires ou d'acteurs du capital investissement.